TamilNadu at a Glance

symbol of Tamilnadu Govt

Madras State was formed in 1956 and renamed as Tamil Nadu on January 14, 1969.Tmil Nadu is one of the 28 states of India. It lies on the eastern coast of the southern Indian Peninsula bordered by Puducherry (Pondicherry), Kerala, Karnataka and Andhra Pradesh. Tamil Nadu is bound by the Eastern Ghats in the north, the Nilgiri, the Anamalai Hills, and Palakkad on the west, Bay of Bengal in the east, Gulf of Mannar, Palk Strait in the south east and Indian Ocean in the south. It is the eleventh largest state in India by area (about the size of Greece)and the seventh most populous state in India with a population of 72,138,958 (5.96% of India's population; census 2011) . It is the seventh most densely populated state in India with a population density of 555 persons per square kilometre as of 2011, having increased from 429 in 1991, significantly higher than the Indian average of 382 persons per square kilometre. 44% of the state's population live in urban areas.

Tamil Nadu is the homeland of the Tamils and has existed since prehistoric times. The culture and artwork of this region are considered to be some of the oldest in the world. It is home to one of the world’s classical languages, Tamil. The language has been documented as being around for at least 5,000 years in written form, but was spoken long before that. Tamil Nadu also has one of the oldest culinary heritages in the world. Tamil Nadu is the epicentre of Dravidian politics in India, which are dominated by the DMK and AIADMK parties. The fifth largest contributor to India’s and one of the most urbanised states in India, it is home to many natural resources, rare flora and fauna, cool hill stations, grand Hindu temples of Dravidian architecture, beach resorts, multi-religious pilgrimage sites and few UNESCO World Heritage Sites. It is one of the foremost states in the country in terms of overall development.

Tamil Nadu has a long tradition of venerable culture. Tamil Nadu is known for its rich tradition of literature, music and dance which continue to flourish today. Unique cultural features like Bharatanatyam (dance), Tanjore painting, and Tamil architecture were developed and continue to be practised in Tamil Nadu.
Dress Code : Style of dressing by the Tamils were so simple and humble a piece of white cloth measuring four or eight feet with a shirt is enough to complete their dress. Now it is giving way to pant and shirt and even designer dresses. Ladies when attained puberty wore a long skirt with blouse and a piece of cloth called ‘thaavani’ to cover the top portion of the body. After marriage they wear Saree and blouse. Now modern dresses are slowly making their way to replace these traditional dresses.

St.George Fort - ChennaiGovernance and administration : The Governor is the Constitutional head of the state while the Chief Minister is the head of the government and the head of the council of ministers. The Chief Justice of the Madras High Court is the head of the judiciary. The present Governor, Chief Minister and the Chief Justice are     C. Vidyasagar Rao (Addit. Charge),   Edappadi K. Palaniswami and Thiru.Justice Rajesh Kumar Agarwal respectively. The major administrative units of the state constitutes 39 Lok Sabha constituencies, 234 Assembly constituencies, 32 districts, 12 city corporations, 152 municipalities, 611 town panchayats and 12,618 village panchayats. Chennai (formerly known as Madras) is the state capital. It is the fourth largest city in India and is also one of the five A1 Metropolitan cities of India.


St Mary's Church inside Fort St George - chennai Tamil Nadu had a bicameral legislature until 1986, when it was replaced with a unicameral legislature, like most other states in India. The term length of the government is 5 years, as is elsewhere in India. The present government run by the ADMK led alliance came to power in 2011 and comprises a council of 33 ministers, headed by the Selvi J. Jayalalitha. Tamil Nadu legislative assembly is housed at the St.George Fort in Chennai. The state had come under the President's rule on four occasions – first from 1976 to 1977, next for a short period in 1980, then from 1988 to 1989 and the latest in 1991.

Tamil Nadu has been a pioneering state of E-Governance initiatives in India. A large part of the government records like land ownership records are digitised and all major offices of the state government like Urban Local Bodies — all the Corporations and Municipal Office activities — revenue collection, land registration offices, and transport offices have been computerised. Tamil Nadu is one of the states where law and order has been maintained largely successfully.[41] The Tamil Nadu Police Force is over 140 years old. It is the fifth largest state police force in India and has the largest strength of women police personnel in the country. As of 2003, the state had a total police population ratio of 1:668, higher than the national average of 1:717. The current Director General of Police (law and order) of Tamil Nadu is Thiru Ashok Kumar, IPS.


UNESCO World Heritage Sites : The Great Living Chola Temples are built during the Chola rule in the south of India. These temples are the Brihadisvara Temple at Thanjavur, the Temple of Gangaikonda- cholisvaram and the Airavatesvara Temple at Darasuram. The Brihadisvara Temple was declared by UNESCO as a World Heritage Site in 1987; the Temple of Gangaikondacholapuam and the Airavatesvara Temple at Darasuram were added as extensions to the site in 2004. The site is now known as the “Great Living Chola Temples”.

Group of Monuments at Mahabalipuram : This group of sanctuaries, founded by the Pallava kings, was carved out of rock along the Coromandel coast in the 7th and 8th centuries. Only 58 km from Chennai, this world heritage site in Tamil Nadu gained this distinction in 1984.

mamallapuramdarasuramThis temple town is said to be at least two thousand years old and boasts of about forty monuments; for its ‘rathas’, 11 excavated temples or ‘mandapas’, giant open-air relief such as the famous `Descent of the Ganges` and `Arjuna`s Penance` and the temple of Rivage, with thousands of sculptures to the glory of Shiva. These monuments are mostly rock-cut and monolithic, and constitute the early stages of Dravidian architecture wherein Buddhist elements of design are prominently visible.

Besides this, there are several famous temples at Mahabalipuram. The Temple of Sthalasayana Perumal and the Shore Temple are perhaps the best of all. It is believed by some that this area served as a school for young sculptors. The different sculptures, some half finished, may have been examples of different styles of architecture.

Nilgiri Mountain Railway : nilgiri
In July 2005, UNESCO added the Nilgiri Mountain Railway as an extension to the World Heritage Site of Darjeeling Himalayan Railway, the site then became known as “Mountain Railways of India.” after it satisfied the necessary criteria, thus forcing abandonment of modernisation plans.


<< Back

Home  |  About Madura  |  Tamil Nadu  |  TN Districts  |  Around Tamilnadu  |  Tariff  |  Contact Us

Copyright © 2009 Madura Travel Service (P) Ltd. All Rights Reserved.

Created By MS Labs